Mukesh Chauhan

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fedora 12 installation hangs on Dell laptop


I was trying to install Fedora 12 on my system. I have Dell Vostro 1015 with 2 GB RAM. The installation hangs after running for some time. It does not hang at one particular place. I tried 3 or 4 times and every time it hanged at different places.

After going through their bug list, I found a bug about my problem. To see the bug information, go to bug.

They have given a work around which did not work for me but it did work for some people.

Update (01-Jul-2011):
This seems to be a known bug. Even, I have faced the same issue with FC14 also. Now, I am using Kubuntu and installed FC14 on Virtual Box in windows. So far so good for me. I wish they could resolve this issue.

Please see below link for the details on the bug here.

February 13, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. hai,
    i am trying to install fedora 12 .I am having dell vostro 1400.2GB RAM.is it possible to install.if it not means please tell other version of fedora to support my laptop.

    Comment by uma | July 2, 2010 | Reply

    • You can try Ubuntu. After trying so many times, I finally installed Kubuntu (kde version of ubuntu). If you are looking for only fedora then, create a virtual machine using virtual box and install fedora on it. It should work fine.

      Comment by mukeshchauhan | July 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment